Winter 2014: A rough start

Hello everyone,

I had begun the Spring 2014 anime season a couple weeks ago, but I had no possibility of updating this blog due to internet problems. Now that those internet problems are gone for a couple days (they will be back!), I can now (quickly) write out my first impressions on these three shows.

As I said on my about page, I will not be doing episodic reviews.

Nisekoi, Sakura Trick, and Space Dandy are the only three that I have seen so far. If I were to judge this season from those three alone, I would think this is another season that I will skip because those shows stink (well, Space Dandy got much better so there are good chances I will stick with that). Of course, there are always one or two shows airing at some point that are good. Hopefully I will find them!

Onto the shows…

[HorribleSubs] Nisekoi - 01 [720p].mkv_snapshot_03.02_[2014.01.12_20.06.58]

Shipping minors is serious business for grown men.

[HorribleSubs] Nisekoi - 01 [720p].mkv_snapshot_03.57_[2014.01.12_20.08.28]

No Japanese here, only pure blooded American.

Nisekoi

A story about a normal high school boy. He meets a female transfer student. They meet through unusual circumstances that leads them to hating each other. At the end of the episode, they are forced by their parents through unusual circumstances to date each other.

This premise falls nicely into the “generic high school romance” category that I hate so much. The main character, Raku Ichijou, is described by Aniplex USA as an “average high school student.” Just awesome. He is average? Cool. He is a high school student? Exquisite.

Not only do we have these amazingly creative ideas, we also given a long lost childhood love. I do not know who that girl is, but the chances of her being one of his classmates are astronomical. When her identity is revealed, the chances of me not caring are beyond infinite.

Despite all of this, Nisekoi is not the worst of shows like this. It is given a little bit of charm by its director, Akiyuki Shinbo. Shinbo does like to play with colors and camera shots. In terms of visuals, the show is mildly interesting, but he is not a Masaaki Yuasa nor Kenji Nakamura.

[Doki] Sakura Trick - 01 (1280x720 Hi10P AAC) [85276821].mkv_snapshot_04.18_[2014.01.19_16.38.52]

Nope.

[Doki] Sakura Trick - 01 (1280x720 Hi10P AAC) [85276821].mkv_snapshot_10.58_[2014.01.19_16.39.26]

Nope.

Sakura Trick

Not my sort of thing. In short, we have a show about the romantic relationship between two 15 year old girls. It will feature more couples later on. It does feature actual romance, unlike most high school romances.

I was drawn to this show because the relationships actually develop, rather than meander about for 25.5 episodes. I thought it might be refreshing. Within the first minute, I knew I was wrong. As far as I can see, the only distinguishing feature this show possesses is that the 15 year old girls actually kiss. After impulsively watching this episode, it quickly became apparent that this show has absolutely no appeal for me.

[HorribleSubs] Space Dandy - 02 [720p].mkv_snapshot_14.50_[2014.01.19_16.27.39]

The flavor of ramen is only truly brought out when it is bombarded with X-rays.

[HorribleSubs] Space Dandy - 02 [720p].mkv_snapshot_07.34_[2014.01.19_16.28.44]

McDonald’s has gotten really fancy.

Space Dandy

after watching episode 1

And the best part about Space Dandy is…

The opening.

It is, in my opinion, one of the most enjoyable things to watch that I have seen recently and it is the best part of the show. I do not care if the humor stinks or if the animation was not that great until the last five minutes. That opening, with its catchy song and artwork oozing with style, is just great.

The rest of the show is garbage. Bad humor, subpar animation, bland characters and setting.

after watching episode 2

This show is pretty damn awesome. Well, now it is. Episode 1 was awful. Episode 2 is really good.

The animation is goofy, but it allows a weird range of expressions and emotions. Taken from another view, what we have now is a goofy show with goofy animation. In other words, the way it should be! In my opinion, not only is the animation goofy, but it also really fun to watch.

A few months ago, Masaaki Yuasa said that he was going on a working on a “funny sci-fi action TV series,” so there was speculation that he was working on Space Dandy. Well, episode 1 did not provide any possibility of that, in my view, because the animation was too tame. Episode 2, however, is full of material that I would expect from him. Could it be possible? Perhaps.

2 thoughts on “Winter 2014: A rough start

  1. Artemis

    Not to nit-pick – it’s your blog after all – but technically the spring line-up hasn’t started yet. We’re still in the 2013/14 winter anime season until March.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

