Preview: Space Pirate Captain Harlock

[DeadFish] Captain Harlock (2013) v2 - Movie [BD][1080p][AAC].mp4_snapshot_00.06.15_[2014.04.27_00.30.33]

I’ll come clean – I have seen this movie already. Back in October 2013, I had the opportunity to see this film at the Honolulu International Film Festival being held over at Dole Cannery Theater. Now it is available on DVD and Blu-ray, which allows me to pay better attention to what I watch. In other words, I am going to be looking at it again more intently. At this stage, this is simply my first impressions (usually I only review things I have seen twice).

I was pretty darn hyped for this movie. If you have seen the trailers, you will know that this movie looks gorgeous – and it is. It is, quite frankly, one of the best looking CGI movie I have seen. Frozen probably takes #1. However, it is not perfect. When I saw it in the theater, I could not help but notice that everyone in this movie has very limited facial expressions. It was almost like their faces were frozen (no pun intended). So, for that reason, it is not the best CGI movie I have seen, because that irritates the heck out of me. But I digress.

I have no real prior experience with the Captain Harlock franchise, so I really had no expectations. I was just excited to see it. And, boy, let me say that I came out of that theater with mixed feelings. As I said before, the movie looks amazing – and that is it. Everything else is pretty average, except for one thing: the story. As I remember it, the story is absolute rubbish. It starts out OK, but it turns into a complete trainwreck by the end. I remember experiencing second-hand embarrassment, an experience that many would avoid like second-hand smoking. However harsh that may sound, it does not even begin to compare to films such as We’re Back! A Dinosaur’s Story, which might even be its own level of mindless story-telling. This film reminds me of Blue Submarine No. 6, in that it creates an interesting premise and then it gets lost in whatever dope the writer’s might have been smoking. At least, that is how I remember Space Pirate Captain Harlock (and it lacks a crying shark, so at least it has that going for it). It is entirely possible that I am exaggerating – the second viewing will tell.

Here is the trailer:

Leave a Reply

